Nearly there! Plus, Halloween cartoons

The Halloween Kid is 83% funded as of this morning! Can we reach 100% by the end of the day? It would be phenomenal!

Don’t forget to visit us on Sponsume!

First of all, thanks to Dreadcentral for mentioning the project on their website (here), as well as UK site Live For Films (here).

Thanks also to all our contributors since yesterday: Matt Compton, Laura Rudd, Karen Lam, Amelia Tyler, Barbara Crampton, Colin Clarke, Alex Glaeser, Martin Parsons, Julian Sheppard, Amy Gregson, Mike Hewitt, Steven Stiller, Don Roff, Miranda Morton, Paul Fischer, Jan Girlich and Thomas Coombes. You’re all stars!!

Over the next month, as we get closer to Halloween, I will be giving you my top 10 Halloween movies: not just movies that are great to watch on Halloween, but films which take place on and around the holiday and encapsulate the spirit of Halloween. Before we get started – expect the first one tomorrow! -, here are a few short Disney Halloween cartoons you might like to check out…

1. Trick ‘r’ Treat (1952)

I had this image from 1952 Donald Duck cartoon Trick ‘r’ Treat in my bedroom when I was 5 or 6, and I’d stuck little glow-in-the-dark skeletons on the sides. It made it look pretty eerie to me. I didn’t discover the actual cartoon – and the holiday itself, which wasn’t celebrated at all in my native Belgium – until a few years later, but this was one of my first ways of showing my love for all things spooky.

You’ll find the cartoon here:

2. The Skeleton Dance (1929)

Though it doesn’t take place on Halloween night specifically, I couldn’t miss this opportunity to mention one of the most influential films ever made to me, 1929 Silly Symphony The Skeleton Dance. I must have been just a few years old the first time I saw this cartoon, and it made a deep impression. As a kid, skeletons were pretty much the scariest thing in the world, and I was OBSESSED with them. But these skeletons weren’t just a little bit spooky, they were also fun…

This is, to this day, my favorite cartoon short, and you’ll find it here:

3. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow (1949)

A bit like Trick ‘r’ Treat, I first discovered Disney’s version of Washington Irving’s tale – my first contact with the Sleepy Hollow story – through pictures in a book. I’m told it’s been banned by Disney because its characters smoke and drink, but I have no idea if that’s true.

As a side note, the reference to Halloween and jack o’lanterns in the film is an anachronism.


Whatever the case, this is a hilarious version of the story, which also includes great songs. See it here:

Are there any short Disney Halloween cartoons that you prefer?

3 comments on “Nearly there! Plus, Halloween cartoons

  1. MartinMetaal says:

    It’s not really a Halloween movie but i really love Disney’s Runaway Brain. Mickey Mouse as a Zombie! XD http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbT7lhl9kpU

  2. Jonas Pavlas says:

    There are a load of inspirational characters out there but I see your work as important too, you’ve got the ability to be great!

Leave a Reply

