October books…

Thanks to our new backer Damon Rickard! Don’t forget you can get involved here!

October is always a fantastic month for horror fans, and fans of literary horror have many reasons to rejoice. Here’s my selection of horror books released this month… (For full disclosure, these are for the most part not books I’ve already read, but books on my pre-order list…)

Monsters in the Movies, John Landis

Landis’s book may not be rich in text, but this coffee table book is so beautifully put together and rich in illustrations that it may well become a must-have for monster movie fans. While I personally wish Landis had sometimes given more of an opinion on the films he mentions, this is the kind of book you can get lost into for hours.

On Monsters: An Unnatural History of Our Worst Fears, Stephen T. Asma

I’m a huge fan of cultural histories (my favorite being David Skal’s The Monster Show), and as such, I can’t wait to read this study of monsters throughout the ages. Unlike Landis’s book, this seems text-heavy and the focus is more on mythology and literature than film history, so these two books could complement each other nicely.

The Night Eternal, Guillermo del Toro & Chuck Hogan

The third and final book in del Toro and Hogan’s vampire saga. Need I say more?

The Empire of Death, Paul Koudounaris

Subtitled “A Cultural History of Ossuaries and Charnel Houses”, this is fairly self-explanatory. I expect a richly illustrated volume, which should help me discover new and unusual things to visit and places to travel to.

Black Light, Marcus Dunstan, Patrick Melton & Stephen Romano

No idea what to expect from this novel, to be honest – but the simple fact that it is the brainchild of some of the most successful writers of the Saw series (and of The Collector) is enough to get me interested. It seems to be a supernatural tale: all the better!

3 comments on “October books…

  1. Hi Axelle, a friend told me about your film project, which looks superb and I would love to get in touch with you directly about the possibility of being part of the crew (art direction/set design/hands on art department) to support your project. You can see some of my work here http://cargocollective.com/littlelegs

    Hope to hear from you and good luck with the film!
    Matilde

Leave a Reply

